Monday, April 22, 2013

Tick, Tock...There Goes the Clock

Let me preface the words to come by apologizing for any spelling or grammatical errors as I am typing this on my phone from my bed.


My friends and i will all be doing the same thing this year. A couple did it at the end of 2012. Some will do it as late as the end of summer and early Fall. I will do it tomorrow.  It's not a mammogram but we should all go get one. We could call it "Flatten your Fritters for your Fortieth". The name is a work in progress. Here's the real commonality we'll all be 40.  It's my 40th Birthday Eve. I just sat and looked at that sentence for several minutes trying to contemplate where it would take me and to be honest, I really don't know. The big 4-0 is called that for a reason. You've basically hit your "midlife". Many say it to people in their 50's but how many people over 100 do you know?

When you enter your 20's, you believe you've entered adulthood. For many, they have moved to college, are experimenting with EVERYTHING because mama and daddy aren't there to monitor their actions and truly believe that you are going to be somebody. What you don't know is that you are still a child or an infant adult. You've graduated from diapers to pull-ups in your adult development. Soon you'll be a full fledged toddler and wearing your big girl panties. Until then, enjoy the help you get from your parents and have fun discovering who you are while you're still young. Just be safe about it.

The 30's are next. During this decade I found that it was getting very real that life was tick tocking away. Man, they went by fast. This decade you enter adult middle school but you will graduate this decade into full grown adulthood. In these 10 years, I believe I went through the most changes although many wouldn't have recognized it. I actually did set goals for myself. I began in my 20's thinking I would accomplish them in my 30's. This was the decade where I was supposed to get married. This was the decade where I was supposed to become a parent. This was the decade I was supposed to lose weight before I turned 40 because everybody knows your metabolism takes a nose dive at 40. What I did do was close my family business which I had banked on having for the rest of my working life. Since the idea of becoming homeless scares the crap out of me, I had to find a job completely out of my comfort zone. Seriously, for God's sake, I don't get to boss anyone around! It's quite frustrating BUT, I have adapted. With the adaptation process comes comfort and I'm gonna need that if the grunts when I exit the couch are any indication of the way things are headed.

I will start this next decade with open arms. I'm not going to be sad about not accomplishing things that should have been done 5 or so years ago. I'm going to focus on what I can do. If you're waiting on  some epiphanionic list, sadly that's not going to be included here because I don't know what in the hell is gonna happen. That's part of the fun of it, though. I compare it to a night out, which I participated in many during my 20's, 30's and plan to keep on keepin' on in my 40's. But here's the comparison. When you make a plan to go out and you put all this time and consideration towards it, it turns out to suck. When you fly by the seat if your pants and go where the wins blows you, you have more fun. Just as I did in my 20's, I'm still goin to be out there discovering myself (I know I sound like a hippie saying that so I apologize). I'm going to be looking for some windy days over the next 10 years. I just hope to not be downwind of anything negative...like flatulence or urine. That would totally ruin my whole wind analogy. I'm saying goodbye to the backside of 30 and I'll see y'all on the other side!!